We The Animals ~ Justin Torres

We the Animals

Upon reading the first few chapters of this book, I knew I was reading something similar to Jeannette Walls’ disturbing memoir The Glass Castle…on speed. But then it got worse. So much worse. A recommended read? If you don’t mind reading about volatile repercussions of child abuse. I give three stars for magnificent writing talent. For some that’s reason enough to read. My favorite moment: this beautiful cover, probably one of my most favorite of all books, that symbolizes the best part in this heartbreaking story — we were safe as seed wrapped up in the fist of God. 

About LiveVitale

Courage. Simplicity. Kindness. Blog, walk & read daily. Laugh, love & breathe deeply. Live your life. ~ k
This entry was posted in KRISTI'S BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We The Animals ~ Justin Torres

  1. Cassie says:

    I really liked the cover as well. I also still need to read Glass Castle – everyone keeps recommending it and I hear it is really powerful.

    • livevitale says:

      Cassie! I’m receiving 20 copies of The Glass Castle for World Book Night giveaway on April 23! If you’re interested, email me your address under my “Contact” page and I’ll send you one!

      Kristi 🙂

Leave a Reply

