Did We Kill You With Kindle?

“We regret to inform you that this Borders Books location has now closed for business.  We thank the people of Rancho Cucamonga and the surrounding cities for their support these past six years.

“While we leave broken hearted, it’s the love of books that drove us and that love will continue to push us forward.

“It’s up to all of us to make sure we instill the desire of reading into all that come after us.  Please support the retail book store.  Thank you.” ~ a sign on the door of Borders Books, Victoria Gardens, Rancho Cucamonga, California, September 13th, 2011.

Oh, man, how I’m gonna miss this store. The hours I’ve browsed the aisles. The too many books I’ve purchased. The admired, easy-to-find-that-book layout. But all good things I guess they say come to an end. Or is it good things don’t end unless they end badly.

“Are you taking a picture of the place you onced worked at?” says Mr. always in the way while I’m driving golf cart security guard.

Oh, hello, nice man, slyly appearing to show sympathy for possible out-of-work employee taking a picture of the now abandoned Borders Books with my pink-covered BlackBerry. 

“No, just a picture for my blog on Borders.”

“We don’t like pictures taken of our buildings. It’s a policy here at Victoria Gardens.”

Really? Hmmmm. Seems to me I can count hundreds of professional ones I’ve seen over the years, not to count the thousands of camera phones omnipresent as patrons stroll through the Gardens.

“Wow, I didn’t realize I was breaking the law or anything.”

Huh. Little me in my ripped jeans and sun-streaked blonde hair with tears in my eyes, so disconcerting to big old human with little man syndrome and a badge. Well, maybe I looked snazzy and important; I’ll take it as a compliment then.

“Yeah, it’s all part of that 9/11 stuff from 10 years ago.”

That’s the least of your worries, buddy.  

Men with big egos need to be shot off into another universe. Maybe the moon location where the Apollo 18 movie incidents occurred. 

Thanks for ruining the moment.

Farewell, Borders. I came to visit you one last time today, but you were already gone. Thanks for the memories.  It was so much fun while it lasted.

About LiveVitale

Courage. Simplicity. Kindness. Blog, walk & read daily. Laugh, love & breathe deeply. Live your life. ~ k
This entry was posted in KRISTI'S FAVORITES and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did We Kill You With Kindle?

  1. ctorres4 says:

    I had no idea that was policy. Seems like he could be spending his time a bit better, like maybe getting out of his cart and checking in on stores. My friend had her purse stolen at Victoria’s Secret a few weeks ago. She was holding up panties — checking out the size and had her purse right next to her on the table. She said it was taken in seconds, and nobody saw a thing. Anyway, nice goodbye letter, Kristi!

    • livevitale says:

      Yeah, imagine you’re snapping a quick photo of the new Tilly’s to send to A, letting her know it’s now open for business when bam, you’re busted. Seems a little overbearing and ridiculous, like an annoying dad scolding a child. Ok, I could see maybe if I pulled out my professional camera and tripod and looked like I had a purpose. Otherwise, it was humiliating. Seems like he should be writing tickets for blinking parking meters or peeps dropping gum on the sidewalk, or better yet, catching thieves like your friend experienced — awful.

      But on to much better stuff….Very sad today to see our Borders gone. And the letter made me cry. I’m such a sensitive nutcase, in all ways I guess.

      Love to you friend…k

Leave a Reply

