Dream Catch Me

 memorycard1-1206

(This post was originally posted on April 9th, 2009.  I thought it perfect for those searching for a cool Christmas present, one the recipient will soon be unable to live without.  It’s on the pricey side, but worth it for sure.) 

Do you ever envision yourself lying on the beach wrapped in blanket or in an oceanfront hotel room with the window open listening to the crashing waves lulling you to sleep?  Or maybe you are one who quickly dozes off when you hear the sound of raindrops on your window or landing on the ground outside.  Perhaps you prefer camping in the outdoors and falling asleep inside your tent while listening to a babbling brook or stream under a starry night. 

If so, boy, do I have the present for you.

Due to the fact that I usually never fall asleep the minute my head hits the pillow, like someone I know, and instead I usually end up replaying and hearing my entire day inside my head, I invested $129.00 in the Tranquil Moments Sleep Sound Machine developed and sold by Brookstone Using batteries, oddly enough this little machine sits on the bed right in between Mike and me.  Nick and Noah have their very own sound machines too, and we all use the Ocean Surf mode and set it on its timer for 60 minutes.  Sometimes in the middle of the night I’ll find myself hitting the button for another round of crashing waves. 

This little drug-free sleep inducer is addicting, and I take it with me wherever I go overnight.  What is most appealing about this particular model of sound machine is the realistic nature sounds it produces.  If you’re looking for something to help you fall asleep, try it.  It may have you in REM in no time, sans the sand in your underwear, a needed car wash, nagging mosquitoes, or a big hairy brown bear chasing you through the campsite.

And since I am probably Dr. Peter Gott’s number one fan, I will also post another cure for insomnia touted by his readers in the Inland Valley Daily Bulletin.  Dr. Gott’s popular advice column has mentioned a reader who swears by her own apple-cider vinegar for giving her a peaceful night’s sleep.  She mixes one tablespoon of vinegar, one teaspoon of honey, and eight ounces of warm water, and then drinks the mix before going to bed. 

Another version from other readers requires a shot glass, and possibly a nose plug; but take the one tablespoon of vinegar, one teaspoon of honey, and maybe add two to four ounces of water, if needed, before throwing it back.  Readers have also claimed this apple-cider vinegar regulates their high blood pressure and cures their gastroesophageal-reflux disease.

Sweet dreams, my Readers. 

© Kristi Vitale and Live Vitale, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kristi Vitale and Live Vitale with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About LiveVitale

Courage. Simplicity. Kindness. Blog, walk & read daily. Laugh, love & breathe deeply. Live your life. ~ k
This entry was posted in DR. GOTT, FAVORITE MUSIC VIDEOS, KRISTI'S FAVORITES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dream Catch Me

  1. Jeepkid7 says:

    Dude, I will never be able to go to sleep again without having that machine by my bed. My favorite thing to do is turn it very loud on the raining setting when it’s a cold night and snuggle up into my blankets! 😛

Leave a Reply

