It Sucked And Then I Cried ~ Heather B. Armstrong

It Sucked and Then I Cried by Heather B. Armstrong: Download Cover
 
Heather B. Armstrong’s It Sucked and Then I Cried front and back covers are now closed, and I loved every minute of it.  Having been a devoted reader of her honest and say-it-like-it-is blog dooce.com, I was thrilled to sink myself into her latest book.  How I had a Baby, A Breakdown, and a Much Needed Margarita sum up this memoir and reading her words send YOU into full-body laughter as she describes the miserableness of pregnancy, lacing it all with her well-known sarcasm. 
 
To be realistic, all of us suffer from depression in our lives, and Heather’s revealing and detailed story of succumbing and surrendering to postpartum depression gives us true insight into this misunderstood and tossed-aside mental disease.
 
Ultimately, after witnessing Heather’s fall, the excellence of this book is watching her rise up and conquer it all as she shares with us the simple beauty and wonderfulness of becoming a mother.
 
Here is my favorite passage from her book:
 
“The best part of my day was when Jon carried Leta back to the changing table after her bath, and she’d lay there wrapped in the towel, her hand shoved as far as she could get it into the back of her mouth.  He’d lean down and pretend to eat her neck, causing her to laugh.  And she laughed for him like she laughed for no one else, a full-body laugh that shook her belly and caused her to let go of her hand for a second.  Her giggles would fill the house and echo through the baby monitor into the living room and out to the street.  I imagined that those echoing giggles were what the background music in heaven sounded like.”
 
And did I mention she is No. 26 on Forbes 2009 Most Influential Women in Media?  Uh-huh.  That’s right.  Go, Heather.
 
 
About LiveVitale

Courage. Simplicity. Kindness. Blog, walk & read daily. Laugh, love & breathe deeply. Live your life. ~ k
This entry was posted in KRISTI'S BOOK REVIEWS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Sucked And Then I Cried ~ Heather B. Armstrong

  1. Carla says:

    Okay, I got this book from the library two weeks ago. It’s my next read after Wednesday sisters. Im on it!! Good review by the way.

Leave a Reply

